ACNS 2004:   Call for Papers

Yellow Mountain

June 8-11 2004

Original research papers on all technical aspects of applied cryptography are solicited for submission to ACNS'04, the Second International Conference on Applied Cryptography and Network Security. In particular, topics of relevance include but are not limited to:

Extended submission deadline

January 28, 2004

Notification of decision

March 28, 2004

Proceedings version deadline

April 7, 2004


June 8-11, 2004

Instructions for Authors

Submissions must not substantially duplicate work that any of the authors has published elsewhere or has submitted in parallel to any other conference or workshop that has proceedings. Accepted submissions may not appear in any other conference or workshop that has proceedings. There will be two tracks; an academic track, and a technical/industrial track. Submissions to the academic track should emphasize research advances, while submissions to the technical/industrial track may focus on implementations of known schemes and deployment observations.

Submission Format: The submission must be anonymous, with no author names, affiliations, acknowledgments, or obvious references. It should begin with a title, a short abstract, and a list of keywords. The length of the submission should be at most 12 pages excluding bibliography and appendices. It should use at least 11-point fonts and have reasonable sized margins. The introduction should summarize the contributions of the paper at a level appropriate for a non-specialist reader. Committee members are not required to read appendices; the paper should be intelligible without them. Submissions not meeting these guidelines risk rejection without consideration of their merits. Authors are requested to mark their submissions “academic track”, “technical/industrial track”. Submissions to the academic track may be considered for the technical/industrial track. Also, authors are requested to indicate whether submissions are to be considered for the best student paper; only papers co-authored and presented by a full-time student are eligible for this award.

Electronic Submission: Electronic submission is strongly encouraged. A detailed description of the electronic submission procedure is available at

Hardcopy Submission: Authors unable to submit electronically may, as a strongly discouraged last resort, send a cover letter and 24 double-sided hardcopies of their submission to Moti Yung, Columbia University, Computer Science Department, 1214 Amsterdam Avenue, New York, NY 10027, USA. Authors intending to submit via hardcopy should contact the program chair on or before December 31, 2003. Late submissions, regardless of postmark, and submissions by fax will not be considered. Hardcopy submission must include a cover letter containing the paper's title and the names and affiliations of the authors, and should identify the contact author including e-mail and postal addresses.

Decisions and Presentation: Notification of acceptance or rejection will be sent to authors by March 28, 2004. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their paper will be presented at the conference.

Conference Proceedings: Proceedings of the academic track will be published in Springer-Verlag's Lecture Notes in Computer Science and will be available at the conference. Proceedings of the technical/industrial track will be published as a special issue in the Journal of China Information Security. Clear instructions about the preparation of a final proceedings version will be sent to the authors of accepted papers. The final copies of the accepted papers will be due on April 7, 2004.

General Chair:

Jianying Zhou (I2R, Singapore)

Program Chairs of Academic Track:

Markus Jakobsson (RSA Labs, USA)

Moti Yung (Columbia University, USA)

Program Chairs Technical/Industrial Track:

Yongfei Han (ONETS, China)

Peter Landrock (Cryptomathic, Denmark)

Organizing Chair:

Xu Li (ONETS, China)

Publicity Chairs:

Xue Li (ONETS, China)

Michael Szydlo (RSA Labs, USA)

Guilin Wang (I2R, Singapore)

Program Committee

Masayuki Abe (NTT, Japan) N. Asokan (Nokia, Finland)     
Feng Bao (I2R, Singapore Kijoon Chae (Ewha Women’s Univ., Korea)
Ed Dawson (QUT, Australia)  Xiaotie Deng (City Univ. of HK, China)
Philippe Golle (PARC, USA)  Dieter Gollmann (TU Hamburg, Germany)
Li Gong (Sun Research, China) Goichiro Hanaoka (Univ. of Tokyo, Japan)
Els van Herreweghen (IBM, Zurich) Chi-Sung Laih (NCKU, Taiwan)
Kwok-Yan Lam (Tsinghua Univ., China) Heejo Lee (Korea Univ., Korea
Pil Joong Lee (Postech, Korea) Helger Lipmaa (Helsinki Univ. of Tech., Finland)
Javier Lopez (Univ. of Malaga, Spain) Markus Jakobsson (RSA Labs, USA)
Charanjit Jutla (IBM T.J. Watson, USA) Hiroaki Kikuchi (Univ. of Tokai, Japan) 
Kwangjo Kim (Info. & Communication Univ., Korea) Wenbo Mao (HP Labs, UK)
David Naccache (Gemplus, France) Chanathip Namprempre (Thammasat Univ., Thailand)
Phong Nguyen (ENS, France) Dingyi Pei (Chinese Academy of Science, China)
Adrian Perrig (Carnegie Mellon Univ., USA) Josef Pieprzyk (Macquarie University, Australia)
Radha Poovendran (Univ. of Washington, USA Tomas Sander (HP Labs, USA)
Dawn Song (Carnegie Mellon Univ., USA) Julien Stern (Cryptolog International, France) 
Sal Stolfo (Columbia Univ., USA)   Michael Szydlo (RSA Labs, USA) 
Wen-Guey Tzeng (NCTU, Taiwan) Shouhuai Xu (Univ. of Texas at San Antonio, USA)
Bennet Yee (Google,USA)    Moti Yung (Columbia Univ., USA)
Yuliang Zheng (UNC Charlotte, USA)  

Stipends: A limited number of stipends are available to those unable to obtain funding to attend the conference. Students whose papers are accepted and who will present the paper themselves are encouraged to apply if such assistance is needed. Requests for stipends should be addressed to the General Chair.

Awards: RSA Security sponsors two $500 awards for the academic program, one for the best paper, one for the best student paper.