4th ACM Cyber-Physical System Security Workshop
(CPSS 2018)

held in conjunction with ACM AsiaCCS'18
Incheon, Korea, June 4, 2018

Dates | CFP | Organizers | Submission | Program | Registration | Venue | Contact | CPSS

Important Dates

Submissions Due:
Camera-ready Due:
 Jan 20, 2018 (GMT)   Feb 2, 2018 (23:59 GMT) - Firm
 Mar 10, 2018
 Mar 31, 2018
 Jun 4, 2018

Call for Papers  

Cyber-Physical Systems (CPS) consist of large-scale interconnected systems of heterogeneous components interacting with their physical environments. There are a multitude of CPS devices and applications being deployed to serve critical functions in our lives. The security of CPS becomes extremely important. This workshop will provide a platform for professionals from academia, government, and industry to discuss how to address the increasing security challenges facing CPS. Besides invited talks, we also seek novel submissions describing theoretical and practical security solutions to CPS. Papers that are pertinent to the security of embedded systems, IoT, SCADA, smart grid, and critical infrastructure networks are all welcome. Topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

  • Attack detection for CPS
  • Authentication and access control for CPS
  • Autonomous vehicle security
  • Availability, recovery and auditing for CPS
  • Data security and privacy for CPS
  • Embedded systems security
  • EV charging system security
  • Industrial control system security
  • IoT security
  • Key management in CPS
  • Legacy CPS system protection
  • Lightweight crypto and security
  • Maritime cyber security
  • Risk assessment for CPS
  • SCADA security
  • Security architectures for CPS
  • Security by design for CPS
  • Smart grid security
  • Threat modeling for CPS
  • Urban transportation system security
  • Vulnerability analysis for CPS
  • Wireless sensor network security

Submission Instructions

Submitted papers must not substantially overlap papers that have been published or that are simultaneously submitted to a journal or a conference with proceedings. All submissions should be appropriately anonymized (i.e., papers should not contain author names or affiliations, or obvious citations). Submissions must be in double-column ACM SIG Proceedings format, and should not exceed 12 pages. Position papers and short papers of 6 pages describing the work in progress are also welcome. Only pdf files will be accepted. Authors of accepted papers must guarantee that their papers will be presented at the workshop. At least one author of the paper must be registered at the appropriate conference rate. Accepted papers will be published in the ACM Digital Library. There will also be a best paper award.

Paper submission site: https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=cpss18.


Steering Committee
Dieter Gollmann (Hamburg University of Technology, Germany)
Ravishankar Iyer (UIUC, USA)
Douglas Jones (ADSC, Singapore)
Javier Lopez (University of Malaga, Spain)
Jianying Zhou (SUTD, Singapore) Chair

Program Chairs
Dieter Gollmann (Hamburg University of Technology, Germany)
Jianying Zhou (SUTD, Singapore)

Publicity Chair
Cristina Alcaraz (University of Malaga, Spain)

Publication Chair
Ying Qiu (I2R, Singapore)

Program Committee
Kemal Akkaya (Florida International University, USA)
Cristina Alcaraz (University of Malaga, Spain)
Alvaro Cardenas (UT Dallas, USA)
Lorenzo Cavallaro (RHUL, UK)
Stephen Chai (Thales, Singapore)
Aldar Chan (University of Hong Kong, HK)
Sudipta Chattopadhyay (SUTD, Singapore)
Chen-Mou Cheng (Osaka University, Japan)
Raymond Choo (UT San Antonio, USA)
Mauro Conti (University of Padua, Italy)
Marc Dacier (EURECOM, France)
Herve Debar (Telecom SudParis, France)
Yuval Elovici (Ben-Gurion University, Israel)
Afonso Ferreira (CNRS-IRIT, France)
Aurelien Francillon (EURECOM, France)
Jonathan Goh (ST Electronics, Singapore)
Stefanos Gritzalis (University of the Aegean, Greece)
Huaqun Guo (I2R, Singapore)
Adam Hahn (Washington State University, USA)
Jinguang Han (University of Surrey, UK)
Shao-Fei Huang (LTA, Singapore)
Harshan Jagadeesh (IIT Delhi, India)
Zbigniew Kalbarczyk (UIUC, USA)
Sokratis Katsikas (NTNU, Norway)
Huy Kang Kim (Korea University, Korea)
Robert Kooij (TU Delft, Netherland)
Marina Krotofil (FireEye, USA)
Qi Li (Tsinghua University, China)
Hoon Wei Lim (SingTel, Singapore)
Jingqiang Lin (IIE, China)
Bo Luo (University of Kansas, USA)
Xiapu Luo (Hong Kong Polytechnic University, HK)
Michail Maniatakos (NYU-Abu Dhabi, UAE)
Konstantinos Markantonakis (RHUL, UK)
Ivan Martinovic (University of Oxford, UK)
Weizhi Meng (DTU, Denmark)
Martin Ochoa (Universidad del Rosario, Colombia)
Axel Poschmann (DarkMatter, UAE)
Rodrigo Roman (University of Malaga, Spain)
Vinay Sachidananda (SUTD, Singapore)
Biplab Sikdar (NUS, Singapore)
Martin Strohmeier (University of Oxford, UK)
Pawel Szalachowski (SUTD, Singapore)
Qiang Tang (LIST, Luxembourg)
William Temple (ADSC, Singapore)
Nils Ole Tippenhauer (SUTD, Singapore)
Ngoc Hong Tran (Vietnamese German Uni, Vietnam)
Yi Wang (Continental Automotive, Singapore)
Jia Xu (SingTel, Singapore)
Daphne Yao (Virginia Tech, USA)
David Yau (SUTD, Singapore)
Xin Ye (Ford Motor, USA)
Chan Yeob Yeun (KUSTAR, UAE)
Peng Zhou (CSIRO, Australia)
Sencun Zhu (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
Saman Zonouz (Rutgers University, USA)


09:00 – 09:10 Workshop Opening

09:10 – 10:10 Keynote 1            Session Chair:  Dieter Gollmann

Prof. Aditya Mathur (SUTD, Singapore & Purdue University, USA)
On the Limits of Detecting Process Anomaly in Critical Infrastructure

10:10 – 11:00 Session 1:  Risk Analysis and Security Testing for CPS
Session Chair:  Dieter Gollmann

  • Jean-Philippe Monteuuis, Aymen Boudguiga, Jun Zhang, Houda Labiod, Alain Servel, and Pascal Urien. SARA: Security Automotive Risk Analysis Method
  • Ahnaf Siddiqi, Nils Ole Tippenhauer, Daisuke Mashima, and Binbin Chen. On Practical Threat Scenario Testing in an Electric Power ICS Testbed
11:00 – 11:30 Break

11:30 – 12:30 Keynote 2            Session Chair:  Aditya Mathur

Prof. Mauro Conti (University of Padua, Italy)
Leaky CPS: Inferring Cyber Information from Physical Properties (and the other way around)

12:30 – 14:00 Lunch

14:00 – 15:00 Keynote 3            Session Chair:  Jianying Zhou

Prof. Henrik Sandberg (KTH, Sweden)
Control Theory for Practical Cyber-Physical Security

15:00 – 15:50 Session 2:  Access Control for CPS
Session Chair:  Jianying Zhou

  • Fabio Martinelli, Christina Michailidou, Paolo Mori, and Andrea Saracino. Too Long, did not Enforce: A Qualitative Hierarchical Risk-Aware Data Usage Control Model for Complex Policies in Distributed Environments
  • Gerd Brost, Manuel Huber, Michael Weiß, Mykolai Protsenko, Julian Schütte, and Sascha Wessel. An Ecosystem and IoT Device Architecture for Building Trust in the Industrial Data Space
15:50 – 16:20 Break

16:20 – 17:10 Session 3:  SCADA Security and Digital Twins
Session Chair:  Nils Ole Tippenhauer

  • Chih-Yuan Lin and Simin Nadjm-Tehrani. Understanding IEC-60870-5-104 traffic patterns in SCADA networks
  • Matthias Eckhart and Andreas Ekelhart. Towards Security-Aware Virtual Environments for Digital Twins
17:10 – 17:20 Closing Remark


E-mail:           cpss18@easychair.org
CPSS Home:   http://jianying.space/cpss/

Updated: April 15, 2018